The Doors To Release 14 Unreleased Tracks On 50th-Anniversary ‘Waiting for the Sun’ Reissue

This year, The Doors will celebrate the 50th-anniversary of Waiting For The Sun, The Doors’ first and only number one album and featured the group’s second number one single in the U.S., “Hello, I Love You”. Marking the group’s third studio album, Waiting For The Sun.

Waiting For The Sun was originally released in 1968. To celebrate this anniversary, The Doors will reissue the classic album, with the anniversary edition featuring 14 previously unreleased tracks, which is due out on September 14th via Rhino.

Available as both a 2-CD set and on 180-gram vinyl, the 50th-anniversary of Waiting For The Sun will feature a fully remastered version of the album’s original stereo mix. Furthermore, the set will also include a second disc of 14 unreleased tracks. As noted by Rolling Stone,

Of the 14 unreleased recordings, nine are early “rough mixes” cut during the original recording sessions, which longtime Doors engineer/mixer Bruce Botnick discovered while digging through his archives. … The remaining five unreleased tracks were recorded live at a September 17th, 1968 Doors concert in Copenhagen, Denmark. The live selections include Waiting for the Sun staples “Hello, I Love You,” “Five to One” and “The Unknown Soldier,” as well as “Back Door Man” and “The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat).”

Continue reading at Live for Live Music.

Comments (0)

Rated 0 out of 5 based on 0 voters
There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Sign up or login to your account.
Rate this post:
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location